Photo of Nancy C. Millan, Hillsborough County Tax Collector

Nancy C. Millan, Hillsborough County Tax Collector

October 4, 2021

Nancy C. Millan was elected as Hillsborough County Tax Collector (HCTC) in November of 2020 and is the first female and first person of Hispanic descent in Hillsborough County’s history to serve as Tax Collector. Since taking office in January of 2021, Nancy has hit the ground running and has made improving customer service, accessibility, innovation, and office culture her main priorities.

During her tenure as Tax Collector, Nancy has increased capacity at branch offices by over 200% and optimized the “Save Your Spot” online system that allows residents to conveniently select a date and time to visit the office. While increasing capacity, Nancy led the charge to reallocate staff resources, fill vacant positions, and implemented an ad hoc telework program to improve phone services. As a result, the Office’s abandoned call rate decreased by 49% and the average answer speed improved by over 30 minutes in the first six months of 2021.

Nancy also led an effort to make the Tax Collector’s Office more accessible by kickstarting “Welcome to Hillsborough County” – an initiative that will assist new residents as they obtain a driver license, register their vehicle, and brief them on other services that are offered by the Hillsborough County Tax Collector’s Office.

Emphasizing her commitment to invest in the public servants that are the backbone of the Hillsborough County Tax Collector’s Office, Nancy increased the minimum wage at the Tax Collector’s Office to $15 per hour and increased the starting pay for Customer Services Representatives working on the front line to $17.10 per hour (up from $15.16 per hour).

Also, during her tenure, Nancy highlighted the role of the Tax Collector’s Office as a leader in the community, and since January of 2021, the Office has donated over 200 surplus computers to Computer Mentors, a local non-profit that provides computer training for youth in Hillsborough County with around 80 computers going directly to STEM Xposure’s “Revitalizing East Tampa” Architectural Design & Construction Camp.

Prior to serving as tax collector, Nancy was a 30-year veteran of the Hillsborough County Tax Collector’s Office – working in various capacities throughout her tenure. Nancy began her career as an accounting clerk and worked her way up to become the Director of Community Relations for the 20 years leading up to her election.

As Director of Community Relations, Nancy developed and managed community outreach programs and public awareness campaigns in the support of the Tax Collector’s Office and to promote the services provided by the Office. She enhanced the image and reputation of the Office as she fostered effective working relationships with government officials at the local, state, and federal level; developed and maintained the Office’s web sites and social media sites; and made the Office’s services, publications, and educational materials more accessible to all Hillsborough County residents.

During her time as Director of Community Relations, the Hillsborough County Tax Collector’s Office was recognized as the gold standard for innovation, customer service, accessibility, efficiency, and communications.

A Hillsborough County native, Nancy is the proud mother of her son, Vinny. In recognition of her service to the community, she was named the 2001 Hillsborough County’s Hispanic Woman of the Year. Nancy serves on the Florida West Coast Credit Union Board of Directors — of which she is currently chairwoman — since 2006. In 2020, Nancy was appointed to serve as a member of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Hispanic Advisory Council.

Nancy’s past leadership positions include chairwoman of the Florida Tax Collector Association’s Public Information Coalition from its inception in 2006 through August of 2019. She was nominated by Congresswoman Kathy Castor to serve on the Board of the Girl Scouts of Suncoast Council from 2003 to 2004, and she also served as an executive committee member of the Board of Trinity School for Children 2005–2008.